Suspended

Peace Corps Niger has been suspended indefinitely due to security concerns. I had been at my amazing village for a nine days before I had to leave. All volunteers have been safely evacuated to Morocco for a transition conference where we will look at all our options.

I have so much I want to say about how amazing my village was and about how much harder it was to leave the village than to leave home, but all that will come in due time. These next few days are looking to be overwhelming. I’ve been in a state of limbo since I left my village late last week. There’s been much traveling and after a few days here, more will follow.

Please know that I am now safe and sound. Sad, but safe and sound. Hopefully I’ll soon be on to a new adventure.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gramma said,

    God answers prayers and he will guide you in your decision about your options.

  2. 2

    Shiela Mangan said,

    Stay strong Elizabeth, Please know that we are pulling for all of you.

  3. 3

    k said,

    I’m a Morocco RPCV in Rabat (well, I’m in Madrid until tomorrow, but I live in Rabat). If you guys need anything that PC isn’t giving you (even just a sushi run, suggestions on where to go to get your mind off things, etc), feel free to contact me. Good luck.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

